‘Beetle’ Higuita edges Bernal to win Tour Colombia

Bogota (AFP) – Sergio Higuita and his EF Schooling First workforce held off the problem of Egan Bernal on Sunday and swept the last podium areas in the Tour Colombia.

Daniel Martinez of EF won the mountainous 182.6 kilometre stage from Zipaquira to a mountaintop end on El Verjon on the outskirts of Bogota in 4 several hours 24 minutes and 9 seconds.

Higuita, who started off the working day in the leader’s orange jersey, was 2nd in the identical time.

Tour de France winner Bernal was third, three seconds back again.

The 22-calendar year-outdated Higuita also defeat Bernal to get the Colombian street title at the get started of February.

“I am really extremely satisfied due to the fact this is the to start with general classification I have at any time won in my daily life,” Higuita, who is recognized as ‘the Beetle’ advised ESPN.

Martinez, Colombia’s countrywide time trial winner, was second general, with Ecuadorian Jonathan Caicedo in third.

Bernal finished fourth overall, 55 seconds behind the winner.

Bernal and the Ecuadorian Giro winner Richard Carapaz attempted to escape on the closing climb but Higuita clung to their wheels prior to attacking with Martinez.

Rigoberto Uran, the theoretical EF workforce chief, finished the race, his to start with because he broke ribs and a shoulder blade and experienced a punctured lung in a crash on the sixth phase of the Vuelta a Espana in August.

Success from the 182.6km sixth and last phase of the Tour Colombia from Zipaquira to Alto El Verjon on Sunday:

1. Daniel Martinez (COL) EF Pro Cycling 4hrs 24 min 9sec 2. Sergio Higuita (COL) EF Professional Biking s.t., 3. Egan Bernal (COL) Team Ineos at 3sec, 4. Miguel Florez (COL) Androni Giocattoli 9, 5. Jonathan Caicedo (Eu) EF Professional Biking 14, 6. Robinson Chalapud (COL) Staff Medellin 52, 7. Hernan Aguirre (COL)Colombia Tierra de Atletas GW 1min 8sec, 8. Diego Camrgo (COL) Colombia Tierra de Atletas GW 1:16, 9. Fredy Montana (COL) EPM Scott s.t., 10.Esteban Chaves (COL) Colombia National Staff s.t.

Total standings:

1. Sergio Higuita (COL) EF Pro Cycling 19h55:50, 2. Daniel Martinez (COL) EF Pro Cycling at 8sec, 3. Jonathan Caicedo (Eu) EF Professional Biking 34, 4. Egan Bernal (COL) Ineos :55, 5. Miguel Florez (COL) Androni Giocattoli 2min 1sec, 6. Fredy Montana (COL) EPM-Scott 2:36, 7. Esteban Chaves (COL) Colombia Nationwide Team 3:09, 8. Hernan Aguirre (COL) Colombia Land of Athletes GW 3:15, 9. Torstein Traen (NOR) Uno X Norwegian 3:19, 10. Sergio Luis Henao (COL) Ineos 3:22

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *